Willowbank Raceway - General News: Queensland Drag Racing Champions crowned at Willowbank Raceway

Queensland Drag Racing Champions crowned at Willowbank Raceway

12 November 2019

Queensland Drag Racing Champions crowned at Willowbank Raceway

The final round of the 2019 Queensland Drag Racing Championships on Saturday night saw new champions crowned in all categories in front of a large crowd on hand to witness the numerous title battles.

In Donnelly Blasting Services Supercharged Outlaws series leader Bill Fletcher was defeated by Dave Glasson in round two but held enough points to hold of a challenge from Shane Atkinson to claim the Championship. Atkinson’s round two loss to Arthur Telford saw him move up to second place in the series ahead of Josh Fletcher but left him 11 points off the lead.  Telford went on to claim the runner-up event trophy after red lighting by just one thousandth of a second in the final against David Wilson who claimed the first Supercharged Outlaws win of his short career.

Paul Doeblein turned a one point lead into a comfortable title win in ET Chassis & Race Cars Top Sportsman by making his way to the final while his closest challenger, Daniel Morris fell in round two. Doeblein defeated Denis Ryan in the final race of the season and finished 11 points clear with Ryan filling second in points and Morris third.

Knijff Earthmoving Modified Eliminator saw a nail biting finish to the series when title leader Mark Allan was defeated by just four thousandths of a second by Andrew Pinkstone in round two opening the door for Tony Littlewood to attempt close the gap.  Littlewood lost in the following round finishing just one point short of Allan and had to settle for second with Kellie Kid claiming third for the season.  The event win went to Andrew Pinkstone with Kelly Bettes claiming the runner-up trophy on her return to the category after a four year hiatus.

In the Sports Turf Services backed motorcycle categories both series leaders proved unstoppable. In STS Comp Bike Ken Collin won the event stretching his lead over Reegan Ward who claimed runner up at both the event and in the Championship. Chris Collin finished third.

Sports Turf Services Modified bike has been totally dominated by Allan Annis who claimed yet another event win, this time over Johnny Lewis, and established the biggest winning margin of all the QDRC categories, a massive 33 points clear of second placed Ian Reed and Mark Gordon in third.

Mick’s Towing Services Super Sedan saw series leader Rob Winterburn uncharacteristically eliminated in round one with Patrick Barron seizing on the opportunity by charging through the field to claim the final from Noel Green and the Championship. Winterburn hung on for second in the points ahead of Alan Woods who climbed to third courtesy of his semi-final finish.

In Prime Signs & Speed Elec Super Street second placed Mitchel Bauer cut a swath through the field defeating series leader Ian Neilsen in the semi-final before claiming the event win over Neil Tschatura and claiming the Championship in the process. Neilsen hung on for second with Tschatura climbing into third.

The battle in Wallace Bishop’s Loyal Watches Junior Dragster was as intense as any of the senior categories. Second placed Ashleigh Pinkstone went out to Livinia Garside in round one then series leader, McKenzie Garside fell to James Lowday in round two and both then had to sit and watch the remaining rounds to see they had enough points to hold their positions. Livinia was trying her best to help her brother by defeating another points challenger, Kyle Magner in round three before falling to a charging Jaidyn Seng in the semi-final. Despite losing the final to Jake Porter, Seng still amassed enough points to win the Championship relegating McKenzie Garside to second spot while Kyle Magner claimed third.

All the winners and place getters will receive their trophies at the QDRC Awards night to be held at the Ipswich Turf Club on Saturday night November 30th. Tickets are available from the Willowbank Raceway Office for $45 which includes dinner.